StandardsAboutContact
Traction
Open Cosmos's €300M Round

Open Cosmos's €300M Round

Open Cosmos says Lightrock led a €300 million round, but the release gives no valuation and does not say whether the money is equity or debt. The demand and profitability claims behind it are the company's own.

Open Cosmos's €300M round is a large, company-reported raise whose most important terms are missing. Lightrock led, but the release gives no valuation and does not say whether the money is equity or debt. The $370M contract and profitability claims are the company's own, so the round is a claim to test, not proof.

Traction Desk · 3 min read

Open Cosmos, a European satellite manufacturer and operator, says it has raised €300 million in a round led by Lightrock, and Tech.eu leads its weekly funding roundup with the deal. The size is clear; the terms are not. The company's release gives no valuation and does not say whether the money is equity or debt, and the demand and profitability figures it cites are the company's own. That gap is the story.

What the release states

In its announcement, Open Cosmos says Lightrock led a €300 million round. It states the money will expand satellite mass-manufacturing capability, accelerate its ConnectedCosmos, OpenConstellation and DataCosmos offerings, and scale engineering, manufacturing and software teams. The company describes close to 400 employees, four factories across Europe and operations in the UK, Spain, Portugal and Greece. Founder and CEO Rafel Jorda Siquier is quoted in the release: "Space infrastructure is becoming as critical as energy, digital networks and transport."

What the release leaves out

The announcement does not disclose a valuation, and it does not specify whether the €300 million is equity, debt or a combination. It also gives no split by investor, so a reader cannot tell how much Lightrock contributed or what share came from state-linked vehicles and pension funds. Those omissions decide how to read the headline: an all-equity round and one with a large debt component carry different dilution, obligations and risk, and only the company can say which this is.

The traction claims are the company's own

Open Cosmos reports "$370 million+ of new contracts signed over the last three and a half years" and "five consecutive years of profitable growth". Both are statements in its own release, and no filing or customer disclosure cited there lets a reader check them. A signed contract is a commitment to buy, not recognised revenue, and the release does not define what profitable means, such as operating profit or something narrower. The figures indicate demand; they do not show margin.

The investor list does not settle the instrument question

Beyond Lightrock, the release names more than a dozen investors, including ETF Partners, Entrepreneurs First, Convex Group, Phoenix Court, Claret Capital Partners, Santander Alternative Investments and Institut Català de Finances, plus the UK's National Security Strategic Investment Fund and two unnamed international pension funds. The release does not say what instrument each participant holds. A long list of names is therefore not evidence of a pure equity round, and the post-raise ownership picture remains unknown.

Official endorsement is not diligence

The release carries supportive quotes, including one from Space Minister Baroness Lloyd: "This landmark investment represents a major vote of confidence in Open Cosmos." Quotes in a company-issued announcement are endorsements chosen by the issuer, and they add no verifiable data on price, structure or financial performance. They show who is willing to be associated with the round publicly; they do not answer the questions about valuation, instrument or audited results.

What to watch next

Three disclosures would settle most of the open questions: the valuation, the instrument and split of the €300 million, and accounts showing revenue and profit rather than contract value. Company filings in its home jurisdictions, or a follow-up statement from Open Cosmos, are the most likely places for them to appear. Until then, the €300 million is the amount the company announced, and the surrounding traction claims remain unverified.

Our verdict

The €300 million is a company-reported figure, the strongest evidence behind it is unaudited, and the terms that matter most are missing. One round cannot show how European capital treats hardware companies generally, and this piece draws no such conclusion. Treat the raise as announced, not verified, until valuation, instrument and audited revenue and profit are public. Founders announcing rounds should state the instrument and define profitability, because leaving them out makes the largest number in a release hard to interpret.

Who led Open Cosmos's €300 million round?
According to Open Cosmos's release, Lightrock led the round. The release also names ETF Partners, Institut Català de Finances, Entrepreneurs First, Convex Group, the National Security Strategic Investment Fund, Phoenix Court and Claret Capital Partners, among others, plus two unnamed international pension funds.
What will Open Cosmos use the money for?
The company says the funds will expand satellite mass-manufacturing capability, accelerate its ConnectedCosmos, OpenConstellation and DataCosmos offerings, and scale its engineering, manufacturing and software teams.
What has Open Cosmos not disclosed about the round?
The release gives no valuation, does not say whether the €300 million is equity, debt or a mix, and does not break the amount down by investor. The contract and profitability figures are the company's own and are not supported by a cited filing.
  1. Open Cosmos secures €300M, Europe at "acute risk of marginalisation", and Sweden's evolving foodtech ecosystem — Tech.eu
  2. Open Cosmos raises €300 million to accelerate real-time intelligence and connectivity from space — Open Cosmos (via GlobeNewswire)